The Funding Zone Scoreboard

McKeesport head football coach George Smith resigns

Written by: on Monday, January 25th, 2010


McKeesport head football coach George Smith has resigned, according to staff reports published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.


Smith’s long-time offensive coordinator, Jamie Eckels, also resigned, citing to the Tribune-Review that when Smith was finished, so was he.  Eckels had come to McKeesport from Cameron County High School in 1991, and he brought with him the patented triple-option/flexbone offense that set the McKeesport Tigers apart from their WPIAL counterparts.


The Tribune-Review reports Smith finished with 190 career victories.  A feature in the 2007 WPIAL finals program highlighting successful coaches throughout the league’s history listed Smith’s post-2007 win total at 180, which would mean Smith finished with a record of 196-106-3 (nine victories in 2008; seven victories in 2009).


But regardless of how you slice it, Smith enjoyed a very successful career.


Under Smith, McKeesport won WPIAL and PIAA titles in 1994 and 2005.  The 1994 team finished a perfect 15-0, defeating Downingtown Area 17-14 at Mansion Park Stadium.  Only 12 WPIAL programs that have won PIAA titles have finished such a season with an undefeated and untied record (Central Catholic and Upper St. Clair accomplished the feat twice).


The 2005 McKeesport team scored a school-record 626 points (fourth-best point total in WPIAL history), finished 14-2, and mercy-ruled Bethlehem Liberty in the state final, 49-10.  The 2005 McKeesport team finished ranked 17th in the nation by the USA-Today’s top-25 poll and third in the East regional top-10.


Counting the 2009 season, McKeesport has made 12 consecutive trips to the WPIAL playoffs (14 overall) since 1993.  Since the start of the 2004 season, McKeesport owned a 56-16 overall record.


Through its program history, which began in 1900, McKeesport owns an all-time record of 577-375-47, with a 27-18 mark in the playoffs.  The Tigers shared a WPIAL tri-championship with New Castle and Jeannette in 1932 (the only tri-championship in WPIAL finals history) and won its first outright WPIAL championship in 1938.  The Tigers claimed WPIAL runner-up finishes in 1949 and 1999.

Follow on Twitter @WPAFootball

Leave a Reply